El Classico: Spain Tallies Up 61 Gold Medals at the International Wine Challenge

May 13, 2013

Spanish wines live up to expectations and score high at prestigious wine awards.

Spanish wines shined at the 30th International Wine Challenge winning 61 Gold medals in a record year of success.  Spanish winemakers also collected 142 Silver medals and 308 Bronze medals and finished third in the medals table after France and Australia.

Spain demonstrated their undisputed skill of cultivating world-class Tempranillo, receiving 16 Gold Medals for the variety including Roda Reserva (2007) for Bodegas Beronia, Rioja Vega Reserva from 2008 and Rioja Alta, Gran Reserva 890, 1998.
  • Sherry also wowed the judges with twenty-eight receiving Gold
  • Harveys picked up a trio of Gold awards for their 30 year old sherries from 1983 (Harverys Rich Old Oloroso 30yo Vors, Harveys Fine Old Amontillado 30 yo Vors and Harverys Palo Cortado 30 yo Vors.)
  • Young sherry also scored well with a 2012 Manzanilla en rama for Bodegas Barbadillo winning Gold
  • The 30th International Wine Challenge awarded 514 Gold medals this year, making it a record for quality with wines
  • Entries were received from all over the world including Peru, Bosnia & Herzegovina, Lebanon and Thailand

The full press release and high resolution images can be downloaded below. To see the full results, please go to //www.internationalwinechallenge.com/


Charles Metcalfe, Co-Chairman of the IWC, says:

“The Spanish Tempranillo Gold medal winners have been beautiful this year.  This classic Spanish variety is always recognised for its qualitive attributes by the judges and this  has been cemented yet again with this years entries. These Gold medal wines have been tasted against thousands of contenders so it is a tremendous achievement that will catapult their product to an international audience.”

About International Wine Challenge
  • In its 30th year, the International Wine Challenge is accepted as the world’s finest and most meticulously judged competition. The IWC assesses every wine ‘blind’ and judges each for its faithfulness to style, region and vintage.  Each medal winning wine is tasted on at least three separate occasions by a minimum of 10 different judges.  Awards include medals (Gold, Silver, Bronze) and Commended awards.  The IWC is committed to helping consumers discover great wine, and the medals are displayed on winning bottles offer a trusted guarantee of  quality.

Visit the IWC website for the full list of winners www.internationalwinechallenge.com

International Wine Challenge 2025

Register Your Interest Now
  • Sponsors of the Supermarket of the Year Award
  • iFavine
  • Sponsors of the Great Value Sake Award
  • Sponsors of IWC Sake Prefecture of the Year Award
  • Sponsors of the Large Independent of the Year Award
  • Sponsors of Wine Educator of the Year
  • Sponsors of the South Africa Specialist Award
  • Sponsors of IWC Online Retailer of the Year
  • Sponsors of IWC Champion Sake of the Year
  • Sponsors of the Rosé Specialist Merchant of the Year Award
  • Supporter 4
  • Hillebrand Gori