Riesling to the Occasion: Germany Wines 14 Gold Medals at the International Wine Challenge

May 13, 2013

Nearly 100 German wines have been awarded medals at the 30th International Wine Challenge

German wines showed star quality at the 30th International Wine Challenge winning 98 prestigious medals.  Winemakers from Germany collected a total of 14 Gold medals, 31 Silvers and 53 Bronze medals at the wine competition which is widely regarded as the finest in the world.

Thirteen of the Gold medals went to white wines, including 8 Gold standard Rieslings proving no one does it better when it comes to this German classic variety. Alte Reben Riesling (2011) for Stepp & Gaul and Würzburger Stein Riesling Beerenauslese (2011) from winemakers Staatlicher Hofkeller both picked up Gold.

  • Winemaker Martin Wassmer picked up the only Gold medal for a German red with his Schlatter Spätburgunder
  • Winemaker Martin Wassmer picked up the only Gold medal for a German red with his Schlatter Spätburgunder from 2010.
  • The oldest French Gold medal winner was a 1992 Grand Vintage from Moët & Chandon.
  • The 30th International Wine Challenge awarded 514 Gold medals this year, making it a record for quality with wines
  • Entries were received from all over the world including Peru, Bosnia & Herzegovina, Lebanon and Thailand

The full press release and high resolution images can be downloaded below. To see the full results, please go to //www.internationalwinechallenge.com/


Charles Metcalfe, Co-Chairman of the IWC, says:

“Riesling is becoming increasingly popular, particularly in the USA and with the standard which we tasted this year it is not hard to see why.  German winemakers have mastered their native grape and these Gold medal winners are world class.  These wines have been tasted against thousands of contenders so it is a tremendous achievement that will catapult their product to an international audience.”

About International Wine Challenge
  • In its 30th year, the International Wine Challenge is accepted as the world’s finest and most meticulously judged competition. The IWC assesses every wine ‘blind’ and judges each for its faithfulness to style, region and vintage.  Each medal winning wine is tasted on at least three separate occasions by a minimum of 10 different judges.  Awards include medals (Gold, Silver, Bronze) and Commended awards.  The IWC is committed to helping consumers discover great wine, and the medals are displayed on winning bottles offer a trusted guarantee of  quality.

Visit the IWC website for the full list of winners www.internationalwinechallenge.com

Rejoignez International Wine Challenge

  • Sponsors of the Supermarket of the Year Award
  • iFavine
  • Sponsors of the Great Value Sake Award
  • Sponsors of the Large Independent of the Year Award
  • Sponsors of Wine Educator of the Year
  • Sponsors of the South Africa Specialist Award
  • Sponsors of IWC Online Retailer of the Year
  • Sponsors of IWC Champion Sake of the Year
  • Sponsors of the Rosé Specialist Merchant of the Year Awards
  • Supporter 4
  • Supporter 5
  • Hillebrand Gori